Chevy Cobalt Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheap CAI & Exhuast, Worth It?

3K views 16 replies 5 participants last post by  hailcesar75 
#1 ·
Hi there, first time poster, so feel free to berate me for any stupidity you might under from this post.

I have an 06 LS 2.2 NA Cobalt, runs great, no performance mods at this time, only aesthetic. She's an older girl at 128k and counting (I drive 80+ miles a day), so I don't want to do anything crazy or high dollar on her. She's more of a practice car for whenever I get an SS in a few years and murder it out.

Long story short, for aesthetic reasons (not looking for performance), I was looking to get a cheap CAI & exhaust system. I'm an apprentice (soon to be GM certified) mechanic, that being said while I have the tools and know how on how to install these kits, I don't have the $$ for a high end one, but I came across this:

For 05 Cobalt 2 2L Catback Exhaust Muffler 3 5" Tip Cold Air Intake Pipe Filter | eBay

It's cheap, it has good reviews, and it looks good.

That being said, I had a couple of questions

1) Are the 2.2 balts from 05 & 06 unchanged? The kit is listed for an 05, but from what I understand the 05 & 06 2.2 NA balts are virtually identical, so I shouldn't have any issues on compatibility

and

2) Has anyone had experience with this particular kit? Keep in mind, I'm going for aesthetics and sound, not performance. The kit doesn't have to improve my HP, but at the same time I want to make sure it isn't so cheap that it'll hurt my baby. The seller has great reviews on most everything they sell, so it looks alright to me, but I was wondering if any of you had any experience.

Thanks for any advice or tips in advance from me and my old girl.

See less See more
#2 ·
Yes the 05' and 06 cobalts are the same, you can interchange pretty much every part with them, so no you will not have problems with compatibility.