Chevy Cobalt Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Code P0010 & P011. Easy Fix?

66K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  lkd2009 
#1 ·
Can anyone guide me in the direction of how to fix both issues.
What tools do I need?
Should I order the crankshaft & camshaft sensors both or how can I find out how to fix this without going to the dealership.

What intake solenoid piece do I need?

Yes, I am a newbie to cars.

:thanks

#2 · (Edited)
Does your engine start? What year? What engine? How many miles? Did you hear timing chain noise lately?

#3 ·
Sorry. 2009 Cobalt LT 2.2L about 67K . Timing chain should be fine and engine always starts. I took it to a shop and they said it could be the intake solenoid but I don't trust dealerships. Just had an oil & transmission change on it recently.

#4 ·
Transmission change or transmission Oil change?

#6 · (Edited)
I'm going to check into this intake solenoïd and come back. That's a new one to me but I'm familiar with the 07. GM server is not the fastest and still runs on XP so give me an hour.

---------- Post added at 07:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:54 AM ----------

Circuit/System Description
The camshaft position (CMP) actuator is attached to each camshaft and is hydraulically operated in order to change the angle of the camshaft relative to crankshaft position (CKP). The CMP actuator solenoid is controlled by the control module. The control module sends a pulse width modulated 12-volt signal to a CMP actuator solenoid. The solenoid controls the amount of engine oil flow to a CMP actuator. The CMP actuator can change the camshaft angle a maximum of 25 degrees. The control module increases the pulse width to accomplish the desired camshaft operation.

---------- Post added at 07:04 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:00 AM ----------

I'm learning with you here.....

Camshaft Position (CMP) Actuator System