Question on adding audio equipment - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Audio/Video Talk about Chevy Cobalt Audio/Video and other mobile electronics here

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-19-2008, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Send a message via AIM to Cloudydaysbehind Send a message via MSN to Cloudydaysbehind Send a message via Yahoo to Cloudydaysbehind
Question on adding audio equipment

I've never touched an audio system in a car, and I was wondering - can you install an amp and sub on the stock system HU and how do you go about doing it? I'm talking about the non-pioneer 4 speaker system.

2007 Chevy Cobalt LT

- Speed kills, drive an import.

. . .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-19-2008, 11:12 PM
Expert

I have limited experience so im sure youll get a better answer later. Im pretty sure there are no problems running the amp through the stock HU, but the one i did myself i used aftermarket so im not positive. I dont think the sub runs through the HU so thats not a problem. Go to crutchfield.com to get some better help as far as install instructions go. Like i said im not a pro at this so try not to flame me if i end up being wrong.

My turbo lag is your courtesy head start.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-19-2008, 11:55 PM
Contributor

i ran a system pushing like 760w or so with 2 12" kicker comp subs and a pioneer amp, and the head unit pushes better than an after market hu does. same system was in a friends car his with non-stock head unit and he says it is way louder and better in my car with my stock hu

post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-26-2008, 08:05 AM
Newcomer