Unknown noise. Can someone help? - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Chevy Cobalt Owners Lounge General Chevy Cobalt discussion

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-06-2009, 09:52 AM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Exclamation Unknown noise. Can someone help?

Ok, here is the deal this is my first time on here. i really just look at the information that you all provide. But now i need some help.
When i put my 08 Cobalt in drive there is this wierd vibration noise under the hood, also if i put it in nuetral it gets quieter but doesnt stop. And sometines it even does it when it just in park idoling. If you have anything that would help me with with this issue i would be greatfull. because the noise in a new car is just agravating.
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-06-2009, 10:18 AM
Forum Regular

Hi jenntony,

Could it be your cooling fan cycling on and off? The fan is electric and not driven off the crankshaft. I can hear mine hum when it comes on, but it's not an aggravating noise.

As always, with a new car, I wouldn't hesitate heading directly back to the dealership with any problem.

Good luck!
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-06-2009, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer

well that may be it but if it is doing it one day it dont stop. but if id dont do it one day it dont do it at all. it sounds like something is loose and vibrating. could it be that cover on the motor? and is that really necessary for the protection of the motor or preformance or someting. can i remove it with no problems?
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-06-2009, 12:12 PM
Forum Regular

Yes, you can remove it. Most "first" engine "mods" consist of removing the cover.
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 02-06-2009, 12:30 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer