Speedometer Not Working - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Chevy Cobalt Owners Lounge General Chevy Cobalt discussion

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-14-2010, 07:16 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Speedometer Not Working

Hi, Newbie here
I just purchased a 2007 Cobalt basic model 4 door and the speedometer is not working and the car shifts real hard (automatic) in between gears and sometimes wants to stall when at a stop light so am assuming it has to do with the speedo not telling the computer what to do. When starting the car a message about the power steering displays until you press the info button to get back to the odometer. The check engine light is also on. otherwise the car performs just fine. Anybody have a clue what is going on here as I have not had a chance to take it to the dealer yet? I also understand that there is a recall for the power steering which also has not been done yet?
Thanks for any help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-14-2010, 07:22 PM
Not justice...Punishment
Staff Alumni
YourCobalt.com Premium Member

Garage
Welcome to the forum... You bought it doing all that? The power steering is a recall item. You need to take it to a dealer to get fixed for free.

The recall is "SAFETY RECALL NUMBER 10023"

In the mean time with these many problems I would suggest you unhook the battery for 15 - 30 minutes to reset it all, and she if she acts a little better.

If that does not help take it to Autozone or another autoparts store and get the code read. Write it down and post it on here for us to see...

post #3 of 45 (permalink) Old 10-14-2010, 07:22 PM

Send a message via Yahoo to finnscobalt
Take it to the dealer ASAP, power steering unit is probably trashed (they are under recall). Could also be a speedo sensor, and since many sensors are tied to many other sytems, that could be it also.

sig pic courtesy of GBALT05