New Cobalt Guy with Several Questions - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Chevy Cobalt Owners Lounge General Chevy Cobalt discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-13-2017, 11:50 AM Thread Starter
Newcomer

New Cobalt Guy with Several Questions

Not sure what category to place this in since new member and I have several questions within different categories........so here goes.

New to Cobalt but am a die-heart Chevy/GM guy. Not a mechanic by trade but done my share of pulling/replacing engines/tranny's, engine rebuilds, auto painting and maintenance/repair.

I bought a yellow (favorite color) 06 LT coupe with 2.2 and auto tranny in December 2016, which I now have put over 4,000 miles on. So for the questions.......

- This morning on the way to work after hitting a (pretty good) bump in the road, the T/C and ABS lights both came on in the DIC. Turned the car off for several minutes. Started back up and the lights were off. When I get home tonight I hook up the OBD-II scanner and see if there are any stored codes. Any ideas or common problems?

- Auto tranny. I remember when replacing the engine in my daughters 2001 Caviler Z24 that there was no dipstick but rather a red screw plug hidden under some engine bay accessories. Looks to be the same scenario here. What is the proper way to determine the fluid level?