Plug-in Driver Monitoring Review (mostly Rant) - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Chevy Cobalt Owners Lounge General Chevy Cobalt discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-11-2017, 11:56 AM Thread Starter
Prospect

Plug-in Driver Monitoring Review (mostly Rant)

I was just wondering if anyone's tried P- Insurance co.'s S-shot module in their car.

I tried it last year and after 5 months P- said, "Forget it, send it back, you're getting zero percent discount." According to their records my average was a dozen or so "sudden stops" per 100 miles driven.

When I first got it I thought it would be great...I'm a field tech (lots of driving) and had no tickets or accidents in over a decade, and that was my only accident in 24 years of driving (fender-ding'er). At the time I received S-shot I didn't have any late night/early morning work projects, so I wasn't driving weird hours which is a major S-shot penalty factor.

So I got the thing in the mail, plugged it in and drove to town. I slowed down for a turn and stopped. The device dings when you do something 'bad', but only the first time per trip. So you think there's only one sudden stop, then later check the stats online and instead there's 8 'sudden' stops in a 20 mile round-trip.

Apparently any usage of the brakes is frowned upon by P-. Stopping too suddenly for a yellow light is a major offense. Being cut off is another stiff ding-penalty, so it's all your fault a 5mph dump truck towing a backhoe pulls onto the 55mph posted highway from a shrub-covered private driveway. And slowing down too slowly while turning means the Ferrari tailing you almost slams into your rear-end while cutting you off on the shoulder and honking because you're "turning too slowly"; P- thinks this type of behavior is great; everyone else on the road sees you as a slowpoke "granny hazard".