Using Junkyard Coupe Supercharger on 2.2L Sedan - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Engine Mods Talk about Chevy Cobalt Engine Modifications here.

7Likes
  • 2 Post By rrob5382
  • 2 Post By MP81
  • 1 Post By MP81
  • 1 Post By rrob5382
  • 1 Post By MP81

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-27-2018, 07:04 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Using Junkyard Coupe Supercharger on 2.2L Sedan

I've found several posts here about people adding superchargers or turbochargers to their 2.2L Cobalt. I want to add a little extra hp (about 50 hp, or a 30% increase), but as a college student funds are limited.
If I found a supercharger from the supercharged coupe SS Cobalt at a junkyard, could I Jerry-rig it onto my 2005 2.2L? (provided I purchase any necessary gaskets, tubing, etc) Or are there complications which make this ridiculously impractical?

I'm an engineering student so if I need to run calculations concerning airflow, energy, heat, etc that's fine by me. I also have access to a machine shop if I need to modify parts to make this work. Just trying to get my 145hp engine to about 200.

P.S. If there's already a thread on this that I missed lmk so I can delete this one and not clutter the forum.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-27-2018, 10:41 PM
Cobalt Master

It all bolts right on, only thing is there's no tuning support for the 05 so you would need a standalone system
Parthros and William MCD like this.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-28-2018, 05:09 AM
Say What again!
YourCobalt of the Month Winner
YourCobalt.com Premium Member

Garage
Yeah, the supercharger swap is definitely easy to do, and relatively affordable. There is a list of parts you'll need that I've pasted below. However, as Ryan has said, '05 will require special tuning, as nobody tunes these.

https://www.yourcobalt.com/forums/eng...2-2-2-4-a.html
Parthros and William MCD like this.