Salutations - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
New Member Introductions For new members of YourCobalt.com to introduce themselves!

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 03-16-2016, 11:30 AM Thread Starter
Initiate

Garage
Thumbs up Salutations

Hello!

I have gleaned a lot of really useful info from this site in the past few weeks, so I thank you all (current and past) members for that.

I recently worked a deal out with my ex-wife to obtain the Cobalt we bought brand new in 2007. It's a base LS model, in the champagne/almond color combo.

When we bought it new, I learned a lot (probably from here amongst other sources) in order to take care of it as I barely made $30k a year and had a brand new baby. I have learned a lot about this car, but still find myself needing more info from time to time. I am not a mechanic, only a hobbyist.

I am an IT by trade, so my knowledge-forte is in network/email/desktop/server administration and support.

My name is Jeremy, I am 30 years old and father of one.

I am in the process of trying to restore the Cobalt, hence-to-forth referred to by her nicknames of either "Cobyashi Maru" or "Coby-Jack".

I have a ton of pictures of the neglect she suffered in the past ~3 years since I separated from my ex and the process of getting her re-habbed that I can post at a later date.

Current issues I am addressing:

- DIRTY! I have completely ripped out all of the interior plastic, seats, etc. I am going to pull the carpet this weekend and try to de-stain it with a combo of a pressure washer and steam cleaner, since new carpet inserts are apparently ~$140
- CEL ; This is due to a massive hole in the flange / flex pipe. I have a new one being shipped already and should arrive on Saturday. Will be removing the old one and replacing it with the new one then. In the meantime, she is definitely an attention getter with her exhaust noise