Computer Help - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Off Topic Chat Talk about anything your mind can come up with!

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 05:31 PM Thread Starter
Cobalt Specialist


 
Snake890217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,333
Garage
Send a message via AIM to Snake890217
Computer Help

I have a Dell Dimension 5100 (like 7 years old), running XP prof. service pack 3, with Intel Pent. 4 HT, and nVidia Gforce 6800. I was just going along the internet and it crashed, it took me to the BSOD and said something like "Page error in nonpaged area" I can run in safe mode but not in regular. The boot screens are all garbled with strange characters, except for the windows, and Dell logos. Starting normally it used to go straight to the BSOD but now it boots and the welcome screen pretty much stays with some icons showing, start button, and clock. McAfee starts normally, from what i can tell. Any ideas? I'll try to get a pic of what I mean by garbled. and I just had to reload xp like a month ago. So far I updated a few drivers and tried system restore to like a couple weeks ago. And a scan showed a couple trojans in the temp internet files.



RIP Cobalt Totaled Sept. 2011
Current Car 2011 WRX

Project Victory_Red_SS Keep the dream alive.

Last edited by Snake890217; 02-26-2010 at 05:37 PM.
Snake890217 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 05:37 PM
Cobalt Specialist
 
stickx911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 1,336
Garage
first guess, virus. second guess, data error. Third guess, hardware failure (or failing).

recommended solution, backup necessary data, and reformat/reinstall.

I know its intimidating, but if you bring it anywhere, that's what they will do. It fixes most and you should think of it like an oil change, it should be done occasionally anyway to keep things operation properly.


Last edited by stickx911; 02-26-2010 at 05:40 PM.
stickx911 is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 05:41 PM
Forum God


 
09-Cobalt-lt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,625
Im guessing virus
09-Cobalt-lt is offline  
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Cobalt Specialist


 
Snake890217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,333
Garage
Send a message via AIM to Snake890217
I guess I know what I'm doing sunday........

---------- Post added at 10:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------

My father is very familiar with older systems, not so much the new ones, can xp boot from a disk from the bios? (It was a lot easier when we just had "fdisk" lol)



RIP Cobalt Totaled Sept. 2011
Current Car 2011 WRX

Project Victory_Red_SS Keep the dream alive.
Snake890217 is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:13 PM
Cobalt Master
 
bbrewbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Middletown, PA
Posts: 1,928
Garage
Send a message via AIM to bbrewbaker
As long as you have the boot order set so that the CD drive is before the hard drive you will have no issues booting to the XP CD.

Just put your CD in and restart.
Your get a message saying press any key to boot to CD.
Then then the set-up is a lot eaiser then it was in the old DOS days using Fdisk.
If you were closer to me i'd help you out with that because i work on pc;s all the time.
bbrewbaker is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:29 PM
Cobalt Specialist
 
stickx911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 1,336
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake890217 View Post
I guess I know what I'm doing sunday........

---------- Post added at 10:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------

My father is very familiar with older systems, not so much the new ones, can xp boot from a disk from the bios? (It was a lot easier when we just had "fdisk" lol)
It's been a while since I've done XP recovery (I just learned its 15x easier to just reformat). but yes you can make a recovery disk...but from there, I cannot remember. sorry, I'm no help.

But you can run the xp cd...lol

stickx911 is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
Cobalt Specialist


 
Snake890217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,333
Garage
Send a message via AIM to Snake890217
okay cus last time we didnt format just reloaded since we didnt know if the bios knew how to boot

---------- Post added at 10:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:39 PM ----------

oh i forgot to add that the bios is also all garbled in the messed up characters, which sorta made me think, motherboard.



RIP Cobalt Totaled Sept. 2011
Current Car 2011 WRX

Project Victory_Red_SS Keep the dream alive.
Snake890217 is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:41 PM
Cobalt Specialist
 
stickx911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 1,336
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake890217 View Post
okay cus last time we didnt format just reloaded since we didnt know if the bios knew how to boot

just make sure you follow instructions to do a CLEAN install. do not install over your old. (sorry if that seems redundant, but I see a lot of people just reinstall over old, which is a waste of time, and'll only make it worse.

stickx911 is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Cobalt Specialist


 
Snake890217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,333
Garage
Send a message via AIM to Snake890217
there was also a power surge about 2 hours before but wouldnt that be immediate?



RIP Cobalt Totaled Sept. 2011
Current Car 2011 WRX

Project Victory_Red_SS Keep the dream alive.
Snake890217 is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010, 06:49 PM
Cobalt Master
 
bbrewbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Middletown, PA
Posts: 1,928
Garage
Send a message via AIM to bbrewbaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake890217 View Post
okay cus last time we didnt format just reloaded since we didnt know if the bios knew how to boot

---------- Post added at 10:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:39 PM ----------

oh i forgot to add that the bios is also all garbled in the messed up characters, which sorta made me think, motherboard.

If the Bios info is garbled in the messed up characters it likely is a MB issue.
Also could be a possible video card issue.
bbrewbaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome