Misfiring issue - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Problems and Service Talk about any mechanical problems you are having

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 11-29-2018, 01:48 AM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Misfiring issue

Hello, I'm having a hard time finding out what's up with this thing first cobalt I've owned. So I'm not sure what common problems they have and if this is one. But I bought the car at a dealership about 2 months ago and it had a check engine light. Obd said cam shaft position sensors (already changed and fixed) that's what I thought would be causing the misfire. Did not. Also had system to lean thats because I think it has no pre cat o2 sensor... Not sure because of the engine? It's a 07 2.4 ss le5 I believe It should have the one. But again I'm new to cobalts. And I've never owned a car over a 98.

After I changed the cam shaft position sensors. This codes went away. Still have cylinder 2 misfire. Low voltage o2 sensor bank 1? Again there's not one and when I say that, like nothing no olet in header before the cat no wire no nothing. Has one after the cat and no where else. I did some searching for where I could be and what I assume where it should be was about 8 to 10 inches after the exhaust flange off the motor before the cat. And again there is nothing there at all. So that's a problem and I'm thinking that because of that it could be leaning out. Yesterday I changed all the spark plugs and the coil on number 2. Messed with the wires and made sure it had good connections. Cleared the codes and unplugged the negative on the battery. Drove it around a bit, ran good. I couldn't drive it enough fow the check engine light to come back on. Later I get in it to go to work. Its back on. low and behold cylinder 2 misfire.