Timing chain and low compression - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Problems and Service Talk about any mechanical problems you are having

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Timing chain and low compression

Hey guys I have some experience with rebuilding Jeep engines and I want a cobalt as a daily driver, but it needs work. First of all, it's a 07 LT 4d I think for $500 and needs a new timing chain and has low compression in 2 cylinders and it's been sitting for about 2 or 3 years. Is that a decent price? Now for the actual questions: how hard is a timing chain to replace in the 2.2L engine? Does it require taking the engine out? I dont want to get it if it's going to be too much of a hassle to fix. Also, it has low compression in 2 cylinders which I heard could be because of the timing chain that jumped a little bit and/or is loose. Should that be a concern? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 08:43 AM
Prospect

It's very simple, you will found the timing chain kit for less then 100$ on a bay, no specials tool needed exept a torque wrench, you can reuse the side carter gasket but you need a new head cover gasket.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-24-2019, 11:15 AM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericvmax View Post
It's very simple, you will found the timing chain kit for less then 100$ on a bay, no specials tool needed exept a torque wrench, you can reuse the side carter gasket but you need a new head cover gasket.
Awesome thanks for the reply. So the engine doesnt need to be removed? My dad got a Toyota matrix that needed the engine removed to replace the timing chain so I dont wanna go through all that anymore.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 05:56 AM
Prospect