Lost Communication With TCM, No Speedometer, Power Steering Message - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Problems and Service Talk about any mechanical problems you are having

1Likes
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-19-2017, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Lost Communication With TCM, No Speedometer, Power Steering Message

Hi all!

Bit of an introduction: I'm a college student with very little experience in car maintenance. I changed a tire once, and that's about it. But I'm willing to Google things and get my hands dirty, ha.

So last Monday, I bought a 2005 Chevy Cobalt Coupe from a coworker (my first car!). I had my car-savvy friend take a look at it with me, and he said everything seemed good. I hadn't driven it much till Saturday, when I finally got plates on it. Later that day, I took it out on the highway, and everything seemed fine.

Then the DIC popped up with "POWER STEERING" and my speedometer stopped working. Power steering seemed fine, although maybe a bit stiff? I turned around, and on the way back I noticed it seemed to not shift gears up as much as it should. I borrowed my friend's OBD-II scanner and it came back with a U0101 code, lost communication to transmission control module. I talked to the guy I bought it from, and he said that had never happened to him. I asked him about the power steering recall, and he said he had never received anything about it. I checked the VIN on Chevy's website, and there are no outstanding recalls for the car.