P0449 Driving Me Crazy, Wont Go Away - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Problems and Service Talk about any mechanical problems you are having

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 05-16-2018, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer

P0449 Driving Me Crazy, Wont Go Away

Hello to everyone on here. Im new to Cobalts and am not experienced with any GM vehicle Ive been a Ford guy all my life. I have a 2009 Cobalt that i got last month that is throwing a p0449 code. the guy i got it from said he didnt replace the evap canister solenoid which is what the p0449 code is for. I bought a new one from advance auto and upon removing the "old" one, took notice that the seller had lied and did have a new one installed. I knew right then and there it was going to be a nightmare. I installed the new one, cleared the codes, and right after i cleared it with the engine not running, the code came right back. No matter how many times i cleared it, it would come back immediately even without the engine being started. I started doing some tests, i unhooked the purge solenoid in the engine bay with the key on engine not running and it threw a purge solenoid code immediately. I then hooked both the "old" and new evap canister solenoids to the purge solenoid connection in the engine bay, and the purge solenoid code went away both times so both the "old" and new evap canister solenoids are good. I thought ok, must be a broken wire leading to the evap canister solenoid. i checked over the wiring harness at the rear wheel, and i could not find any cuts or broken wires everything looked pretty good. Afterwards i used a multimeter to see if the purge solenoid and evap canister solenoid was getting power. Purge solenoid in engine bay was getting 8.9 volts with key on engine not running, and to my surprise the evap canister solenoid wiring was receiving 8.7 volts. I dont understand this, if the evap canister solenoid is receiving power, then why