Newby Question About Rear Brakes - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Suspension/Wheels/Brakes/Tires Talk about Chevy Cobalt Suspension, Brakes, Wheels, and Tires here
Sponsored by:

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-11-2015, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Newcomer

Newby Question About Rear Brakes

Hi. I'm looking for info about the rear brakes. My 2010 LS Cobalt has 5 lug rear drum brakes on it. Is this standard OEM equipment?
I've got one spring (behind the tensioner) that doesn't want to fit in place. I know where it hooks into the front shoe but I can't figure out where it hooks into the rear shoe (driver's side).
Every video I'm finding shows a different brake set-up, with 4 lugs instead of the 5 lugs configuration that I have.
Any help is greatly appreciated. This is my first attempt at working on modern drum brakes.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-11-2015, 04:56 PM
Forum Regular

5 lug drums were available on the LT model I believe, so 5 lug on your LS seems like someone swapped it over. The right shoe has a hole on the back side (closest to the back of the car) to hook the spring, and a little hook on the the left shoe (closest to the driver). And the setup should be the same for 4 and 5 lug.

2006 Cobalt LT Stealth Grey Metallic Coupe.
The current mods: ZZP shorty header, Mugen Twin Loop Muffler, American Eagle 17x7s, Nightshade Tinted Tail Lights, Custom Spec-D Headlights, SS 0-140mph Gauge cluster, Custom Made Cold Air Intake, Carbon Fiber wrapped badges, FE5 Struts/Shocks, CM/SSC Springs, SS Shift Knob, SS front bumper, SS Pioneer Sound System, Pioneer GM-A3602 Amplifier, Painted Calipers, MPX Shorty Antenna.

1969 Triumph GT6+ MK2 (350 V8 project car)
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-12-2015, 05:26 AM Thread Starter
Newcomer

I stand corrected. I meant LT. ?