Driving Manual: Tips and Discussion - Chevy Cobalt Forum / Cobalt Reviews / Cobalt SS / Cobalt Parts
Transmission All about the Chevy Cobalt Transmission

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 64 (permalink) Old 07-26-2014, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Driving Manual: Tips and Discussion

Ok, well using autoguide's search I couldn't really find anything exactly like this. I want this to be here for everyone to share what they know about driving manual. If you have tips or tricks.. share them. If you have questions, ask them.

I am fairly new to driving manual. My question in this new thread is .. does rev matching hurt the clutch or engine? I feel like it would actually reduce wear. And that is what I was told, but I'm not an expert. Some say it harms the vehicle, others say it helps reduces wear.. which is true? Both?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 64 (permalink) Old 07-26-2014, 07:47 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
I still maintain that when done right, rev matching a downshift is no more harmful to your car than a regular upshift. If you're really concerned about wear, pop it into neutral and coast, but in doing so you'll lose valuable engine braking, decrease fuel economy due to negating DFCO and you'll have no power in the event of an emergency. Also, it's a great way to increase the wear on your brakes. Plus, downshifting makes you look badass. When approaching a stop, I'll go from 5th, to 4th, then to 3rd, and clutch in at 1500 rpm. When I want power, I'll jump from 5th to 3rd (or 2nd if possible) and give her the beans. Car instantly wakes up and pulls hard.

Downshifting is an invaluable skill for any and all manual drivers to learn and master.

'07 Eclipse GT build thread - 280whp, 254wtq
post #3 of 64 (permalink) Old 07-26-2014, 08:32 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator