Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2008 Chevy Cobalt has a CEL - code P0303. I've changed spark plugs and coil packs, but that hasn't fixed it. The car runs okay for the most part unless I am sitting at a stop light or idling somewhere, then it idles roughly and the CEL light starts flashing. I'm not a mechanic, but am trying to see if myself, since I can't afford to take it to the shop. Anyone know what could be wrong, or what I can check?

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
P0303 should be a cylinder misfire code, pertaining to cylinder 3, its not affecting at ignition, but it picked up either an electrical or mechanical misfire. You may also want to ensure your fuel injectors are not clogged with fuel debris.

do not always assume its electronic ignition problem... you can have a faulty injector, cylinder is not reaching to its full potential during combustion stroke, or wrong grade of fuel. Cannot tell you what the "actual" problem is without diagnosis of electrical equipment. So never assume that its always a electronic failure. some people on here will tell you what they "think" it is for common failure, but your best option is to take it down to a dealership with people who "know" what to diagnosis with rather than a google assumption and paying bucks out of your pocket for not the cause of your engine code.

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
My 2008 Chevy Cobalt has a CEL - code P0303. I've changed spark plugs and coil packs, but that hasn't fixed it. The car runs okay for the most part unless I am sitting at a stop light or idling somewhere, then it idles roughly and the CEL light starts flashing. I'm not a mechanic, but am trying to see if myself, since I can't afford to take it to the shop. Anyone know what could be wrong, or what I can check?