Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
A friend of mine with a Cobalt SS/SC has aftermarket header and downpipe and is giving me his stock ones. If I install them will I get a CEL/SES?

I looked for a similiar thread but couldn't find one.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Is it still compatible being that the LAP has SAI?

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Does the SAI connect to the manifold or something? I'm new to the LAP motor and now real familiar with it.

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
Does the SAI connect to the manifold or something? I'm new to the LAP motor and now real familiar with it.
Yes, SAI is integrated with the exhaust manifold. SAI equipped engines have a welded steel exhaust manifold/header that the SAI valve bolts on top of.

You're in GA and shouldn't have SAI unless you were lucky enough to get one that had it. Just look at your exhaust manifold...if it is cast iron and no valve assembly sitting on top of it you don't have SAI.

Look to at where your 1st HO2S -oxygen sensor- is located -- probably in the down pipe. The SS (2.0 SC and 2.4) HO2S is located in the manifold.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
OK, looks like I have a cast manifold. Also, the LSJ manifold that my friend gave me does not have an O2 hole in it. Only has a hole in the downpipe. I can take a pic of it if need be.

·
Say What again!
6,000 Posts
Right - there shouldn't be an O2 hole in the manifold.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
So my 2.2 and the LSJ both only have one 02 hole, right? I won't have an extra hole or an extra 02 sensor without a hole, right?

·
Say What again!
6,000 Posts
Your manifold shouldn't have any O2 bungs - the downpipe houses the O2...

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter #14