Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
931 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am torn here. I have 2 sets of lowering springs and I am deciding on which set to install on my sedan and what set to sell.

First set is B&G Lowering springs. Brand new still in the box

The second set is Sportlines. Were used for about a week on a friends car and then went to coilovers.

If you had the choice what set would you install and why? I am looking to install a set on Sunday at a friends house. I heard both have the same drop on them techically but the BnG springs seam to be the lowest.

Also any tips on installing them. I already know there is a diy thread but its my first time installing anything suspension related on any car and dont want to **** anything up

·
Registered
446 Posts
From what I've read sportlines give a good drop and perform better than the B&G, but B&G should give you a much lower drop. It just depends on what you want.

·
Get Out The Sawzall
1,856 Posts
If I recall correctly, B&G, Eibach, Dropzone, Tien and KSport, all have virtually the same spring rate with the coil winding for drop being the only major factor that is different. They all have coil bind. The B&G's to seem to drop the car a slight bit lower but even Blaze cut a coil off, just like XFE and I did on our Tiens and KSports. because of slight reverse rake. If you want a spring with moderate drop and no coil bind go with Pedders, they only give a 1.5 front and 1.6 rear drop, but from the research and forum remarks on many different sites, these seem to be the best when combined with other highend suspension components. But they are more expensive and if you are just looking for a drop IMO all the other progressive rate springs are the same with the only difference being the drop.

·
Registered
435 Posts