Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just got done replacing my thermostat on my Cobalt. Let me first say that I am a pretty fair backyard mechanic. I also have a lift. It took me about 10 minutes to pull it and about 5 hours to put it back in!! I could not find the right .000295 degree angle for that fu^%$#* water pipe from the water pump to the thermostat housing to go in after replaceing the thermostat. I tried from above to below for hours! Using prybars, screw drivers channel locks and the like. If anybody has a tip on the installation please share it here for the next guy so he does not have to go through what I did. I was seriously thinking of dropping the motor thats how frustrated I got!!!
Now after I have completed the task and not set fire to the car due to frustration are there tips ? Maybe loosining the thermostat housing from the block? Everything is so hard to get at I still am not sure what I could do to make it easier!!! Lastly why the fu%$ would you put a part that probably will need to be replaced sometime in the cars life behind the exhaust manifold?

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
First time I've heard that somebody found it hard to change the thermostat on a Cobalt.

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
It should not be that difficult to change out a thermostat. The reason why they don't last forever is that engineers design them to get service at a dealership. They have not perfected a better part and just like the internally combustible engine, has not changed in over 100 years.

I cannot see why you would set the car on fire from frustration. If you are unable to do it, then I would highly suggest to find a friend to help you install a new one. That's what I would do.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
2005 Cobalt

Its 2 bolts to replace the thermostat....