Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The motor has 74k on it and I was told by a repair shop the timing chain tensioner failed and the motor would cost 5k+ to rebuild, I am debating on rebuilding it myself or just buying a new engine to swap, I have rebuilt engines before I am not a professional mechanic and won't get it done over Nite but any one who has rebuilt this motor have any ideas or advice I would appreciate it, I know it is a big job and can be time consuming but I am up for a challenge.

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
You can probably get a junkyard motor with reasonable miles for like 500-600 dollars. You and a friend can change it in a long day and a case of beer. I would say this is your best bet. You can tinker with the dud engine after at least you'll have a car on the road. And for GOD sake change the tensionner on the replacement motor before you start it up.

·
Registered
922 Posts
you can buy a newish engine for the 2.2 for way less.... the shop is probably giving you the price for pulling the current engine, buying another one, and installing it... 5k is pretty steep for repairing the 2.2 unless they were buying everything seperately.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited by Moderator)
2008 2.2 ecotech

Wow thanks for the fast reply, Coby7 sent you a p.m. I have another vehicle to drive in the mean time, I guess what I'm getting at is if I'm going to all the trouble of dropping the motor I want to put something reliable back in, since I don't have A shop and this will be a garage event how technical is this motor to rebuild? It is funny because I have built a few small block race motors but this little guy has me weary, just got done with a 97 cavalier but this motor is much newer and technologicaly advanced.I have priced rebuild kits plus new valves and I'm coming in at around 1500 to get back to stock.

·
Registered
922 Posts