Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm replacing the rear shocks on my 08 Cobalt this weekend and wanted to make sure i have everything on hand that I may I want to replace while I'm in there. I dont plan on replacing the spings but what other pieces are part of the spring mounting that wear out commonly? Upper spring mount, spring isolator/insulator? This is my first time doing this so I'm not sure what all is in there and what is commonly worn out. Can someone give me some reccomendations of replacement items to have on hand during the install?

·
Registered
227 Posts
The springs and spring mounts should be okay. My balt' has 100k miles on it and I just replaced the rear springs for FE5's, and the mounts were perfectly fine. So unless the mounts looks rotted or cracked to you, I think all you really need to do is just replace the shocks.

·
Say What again!
6,036 Posts
You should be good, the back isn't too complex.

·
Registered
1,518 Posts
Might as well check the brakes while you are back there, but just look everything over and make sure your brake lines and gas lines are still solid, just give everything a quick check since you are down there anyways

·
Registered
589 Posts
I'd check the upper spring mounts. There's a piece of isolation rubber/foam that sits between the spring and the spring cup. I've got 130k on my 05. Mine are completely gone but they'll be getting replaced when I swap axles in March. Some people have simply bought a stock rubber sheet 1/4" thick and cut it for the replacement. The new parts are pretty expensive and if yours is bad/needs replaced the foam/rubber is all you'd need. Unfortunately if you want to buy a new piece, gm doesn't sell just the rubber. You have to buy the whole assembly.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
227 Posts
If you have a pull yard near you, you can probably find one for a couple dollars

·