Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2008 cobalt LT and I keep having ball joint problems.
-Struts/both (entire strut replaced) FL under 6 months old. FR 15 months old
-New swaybar bushing and end links:1 month old
-New control arms: installed yesterday.
-Front hubs: about a year old.
-Front right spindle: Used replacement-installed 15 months ago:
*I have gone through control arms at an alarming rate.
*Today I installed new control arms and took the car to get aligned. The shop couldn't align because there's tons of play with the ball joints.
I installed (myself/ DIY job) ULTRA-POWER RK620302 & ULTRA-POWER RK620301 control arms from RockAuto.

*I reused the ball joint pinch bolts.
*I have rear drums and according to everything I've read, so that means I have the FE1 soft ride.
I'm at my wits' end. The last set of control arms lasted less than 4 months: ball joints had too much play.
I drive Uber for a living and haven't been able to work for over 10 days now. Can someone please help! I can't imagine the ball joints being bad, they felt stiff before installing. I can't fathom the ball joints going bad the 3 miles I drove to the alignment shop.
The alignment shop (pep boys) didn't have time to diagnose it and I don't have the money to.
Here is a video I took with the car on the lift
https://youtu.be/bJGq_1b_PgA

·
Registered
2 Posts
Open your trunk lift spare tire cover and look at sticker on driver side will tell you your suspension package from video side to side movement is tie rod up and down is ball joint just some fyi they might have been looking for a good paying work order.

·
Registered
23 Posts