Chevy Cobalt Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
SHOULD I BUY IT --- YES or NO??? . . . . .Just test drove a 2010 Chevy Cobalt LT with only 119k original miles. Seller is private party (2nd owner). Automatic, smooth ride on side streets and highway, no issues with engine - esp. at top speeds. Most all basic features work fine. Nice looking car.

P.S. I'm a former Navy engine mechanic and know my way around most used vehicles but I almost always still have any used vehicles inspected by mechanic before buying.

NOTE: Ran a full vehicle check and report shows "auction announced as unibody damage" from back in 9/2011 but I'm not overly worried. Doubt there are any lasting effects of that damage now (original owner was a rental car company). No other glaring problems. Clean title.

ISSUES (wondering if they're all related to some electrical and/or fuse issue?)

1. Cruise control not working

("On/Off" button lights up but "Res+" & Set -" buttons don't function. Both the "Driver Information Center(DIC)" info button and "Reset" button directly under these work)

2. Controls for outside power mirrors don't work

3. Radio doesn't turn on

4. Rear (driver's side) power window doesn't go down

5. Wire attaching antenna inside trunk looks rusted at end (doesn't attach to antenna)

6. Tire pressure monitor light is on
(supposed to show actual tire pressure #'s in the DIC instrument panel)

Wheel Automotive parking light Automotive side-view mirror Car Tire

·
Registered
26 Posts
They're not all related. If you think it's a nice looking car for 13 years old you probably are answering your own question.

If it's cheap go for it, searching this forum you'll find most of the problems you have others have posted about. Parts are still VERY easy to get for these cars. When available go with OEM on Amazon or rockauto, these cars don't always like the mass market Dorman/Big Box brand parts.