Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently installed cruise control on my girlfriend's 2008 Cobalt LT, but to my disappointment I have not been able to activate it in the BCM. I spent several weeks researching the installation before I spent any money. Then I bought a leather SS steering wheel from a 2009 Pontiac G5. My girlfriend preferred her original vinyl wheel, so I changed the wiring harness and the bezels.

On the positive side, I didn't have to custom-wire anything. The BCM wire for cruise control was already present in pin 61, and the wiring from the stereo head unit to the clockspring was already intact, so the steering wheel audio buttons worked instantly.

The cruise control button lights up, but I knew that I would have to take it to a dealership to have it activated with a Tech2 and Candi module. When I got to the dealership, I told them what I wanted, and then I waited 20-30 minutes while they "attempted" to program it. When they failed, I provided the following printed instructions:

If your dealer or garage doesn’t know how to configure the BCM for cruise control, print these instructions for them:

1. Using their tech2, build the car.
2. Select Vehicle Control Systems, then navigate to Computer/Integrating Systems.
3. Once in the Computer/Integrating Systems menu select Module Replacement/Setup and follow the instructions on the scan tool.
4. It will ask a bunch of questions regarding the options on the car, one of them will be about the cruise control, just say yes it does have this option.
5. Finish set-up and you're done......takes about 5mins

After I gave them the instructions, they drove the car back behind the magic curtain and returned about 5 minutes later. The mechanic came back with a "how dare you question my intelligence" attitude, and told me that the Computer/Integrating Systems option (Step 2) is NOT an option with the LT. He highlighted the SS on the URL the page was printed from, and said that you have to have an SS for this option to work. I argued that the wiring exists for cruise control and that the buttons light up, so in theory the car should accept it. His response was that Chevy simply uses the same harness for everything, regardless of which options a car has or does not have. "We can't just grab stuff off the internet and make it work."

The mechanic said the only avenue he is aware of would be to contact Chevy directly to have a custom program written for programming my BCM for cruise. He said that a VCI number would be assigned to this program, and that he could load this VCI number to run the program. I have never heard of this before. Any thoughts?

The dealership still charged me $55, even though they didn't activate the cruise. I KNOW that this can be done, because I have read about people successfully doing this for 2007-2010 Cobalts on this site and other similar sites on the internet. So in my mind, there are three possibilities:

1) The mechanic is incompetent and too proud to admit that he might not know everything. He probably didn't even reconnect the Tech2 and immediately disregarded my instructions without even trying.

2) The dealership knows that this can be done, but because they are crooked, they lied to me.

3) The Tech2 has been changed so that my 2008 era instructions are no longer valid. The only reason I can think of for this would be another way for Chevy to eliminate DIY options for cruise control.

Does anyone have any insight into my situation? I'm very discouraged, but I'm determined to make this work. Thanks in advance! Any advice will be very much appreciated.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,821 Posts
Well, I did this for my Cobalt. You do need a TechII to enable cruise and just I happen to have one of those. Unfortunately your instructions don't appear right, if I remember correctly it is not in the computer/Integrating system but rather directly in the BCM programming menu. When it ask "Are you sure you want to reprogram BCM" (Kind of a scary question if you don't know what you are doing). Then it will ask a bunch of questions about options in the car you just say yes to all of them and you will reach the option selection menu. Then you just check the box for cruise control enable and exit the BCM programming. The new setting will be saved upon exit.




Just go to a different dealer or better still go to someone that has a Tech II that knows what he's doing. I would get the GM girls from here to talk to that dealer and get you your money back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,036 Posts
I found the option myself when I programmed it. Borrowed a tech 2 from a friend that had access to one and it took us all of 15 minutes to figure it out. Although after we spent another 30 minutes just looking through it for fun.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
This is why I wish I could have been there with the mechanic to see the TechII in actionand help figure it out. But of course, the dealership always drives your car out of sight so they can tell you whatever they want you to believe.

---------- Post added at 10:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:19 PM ----------

Well, I did this for my Cobalt. You do need a TechII to enable cruise and just I happen to have one of those. Unfortunately your instructions don't appear right, if I remember correctly it is not in the computer/Integrating system but rather directly in the BCM programming menu. When it ask "Are you sure you want to reprogram BCM" (Kind of a scary question if you don't know what you are doing). Then it will ask a bunch of questions about options in the car you just say yes to all of them and you will reach the option selection menu. Then you just check the box for cruise control enable and exit the BCM programming. The new setting will be saved upon exit.




Just go to a different dealer or better still go to someone that has a Tech II that knows what he's doing. I would get the GM girls from here to talk to that dealer and get you your money back.
Thanks, Coby7! The picture definitely helps. I will definitely go back to the dealership, and hopefully either get them to follow these instructions for free or give me my $55 back. You mentioned some possible GM employees on this forum? Interesting......
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,821 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,821 Posts
You will need a certain amount of post to private message them, unless they chime in before.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,145 Posts
Sorry to hear they were angry with you, but the tech should already know how to do that on the BCM through Tech II. Technicians today sometimes get attitudes from having customers telling them how to do the job. They should acknowledge that you know how to do it, but just don't have the equipment. If for any reason you felt uncomfortable about your experience, request next time during your visit for a CSI card (Customer Service Index). Its basically a feedback card that gets reported back to GM headquarters and impacts their rating. I am sure 1 bad report wont make them look bad, but if they have multiple bad CSI scores, it can impact their dealership.

The TechII scan tool, Ive messed with one myself, is very 80s video game looking, but its still used today unfortunately, but simplicity is key. Just remember one thing, by you telling them how to do it wont change the price on them doing the job. Labor rate will still be the same. Not trying to bash on you at all, just keep that in mind for another dealership. Its like a technician coming to your job and telling you how to do yours.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,420 Posts
I found a local garage with a Tech II and had mine turned on. The mechanic didn't believe it could be done, even after he followed my steps, but he did it anyway. My problem was I had an LED in my third brake light that prevented the cruise from engaging. After I got that squared away it was all good.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
I wouldn't listen to that particular mechanic. I encountered a similar problem. When I did my cruise, my local Chevrolet dealership had no idea what I was talking about. They thought that because it was a LS that nothing could be done. I just brought it to a different dealership. When I specifically asked if they had the Tech II, they asked what I needed it for. I explained and they knew exactly what to do. Took about an hour after I set up time
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,821 Posts
I wouldn't listen to that particular mechanic. I encountered a similar problem. When I did my cruise, my local Chevrolet dealership had no idea what I was talking about. They thought that because it was a LS that nothing could be done. I just brought it to a different dealership. When I specifically asked if they had the Tech II, they asked what I needed it for. I explained and they knew exactly what to do. Took about an hour after I set up time
You mean they charged you an hour, it only takes 5 minutes which most of it is spent connecting the CANdi and TechII and booting up. I did mine and a few others.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
You mean they charged you an hour, it only takes 5 minutes which most of it is spent connecting the CANdi and TechII and booting up. I did mine and a few others.
They actually did. I don't have the receipt in front of me, but it was $90-$100.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,145 Posts
yep, standard labor rate, even if it takes them 2 minutes...the techs get paid for that whole hour that the rate calls for. Flat rate...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
I finally got it done. Coby7, I expanded on your instructions and found a list of step-by-step instructions for a Rostra aftermarket kit that meshed with your instructions. I went to the only local shop in town that had a Tech II with updated software (that I could find, anyway). The mechanic was really cool. I explained my problem, and even though he had never attempted it, he was willing to try. I sat with him in the car, and it literally took 5 minutes. The down side is I had to pay him $100, but it was worth it to me. Now I need to try to get back the $55 down the drain I spent for the dealership to tell me it couldn't be done.....
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,821 Posts
Nice, price is a bit steep for a corner garage though. I charge $20 for this to the locals. But Hey, you got cruise now.. I love cruise, use it every day.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top