Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im on my way out to get some paint for my dash and door panels but im kinda new to painting so what do i need besides this... Im gonna get Krylon fusion paint and clear coat but do i need primer or anything else?

·
Registered
3,006 Posts
You will need some sand paper for the dash pieces. 400 and 1200 grit along with some paint thinner to clean the stuff before you start painting

·
Registered
485 Posts
Most important thing also is to wear some sort of rubber or latex gloves when your touching the panels until after you get them clear coated. The oils from your skin will get on the plastic and over time will cause the paint to let loose

·
Banned
1,559 Posts
Do I have to sand my door panels?

·
Registered
3,006 Posts
No there is no paint on them. just wipe them down with paint thinner first.

·
Registered
328 Posts
i dont want to say right or wrong, its your choice everyone does things differently...i am a painter at a body shop this is how i usually do things...

but i would strongly advise not wiping anything with thinner it will either eat,melt, or ruin what is there or what you will put there if your not carefull...