Chevy Cobalt Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Going on 3 days now and it's still really tacky.
I'm painting my steering wheel for my boat, which is a softish, plastic or rubber. I put about 3 coats on it, but still not dry.
I've set it out in the sun today and yesterday for hours at 85 - 90 degree temps. Then put in in the garage overnight at about 75 degrees.
I even set it on the kids' trampoline, but unfortunately got a little paint on there. Even that little bit is tacky 24 hours later.
I prepped it really well, even used the Dupli-color prep wipes(they are great). But I'm confused?
Could I be exposing it to too much heat?

I hate to have to clean it all off.

·
Registered
328 Posts
hrm ... ive seen this before on some big jobs at work (im a painter at a bodyshop) but not 100% sure what could cause it. but have some ideas ....

since you didnt use "professional" paint and used spray paint. i cant blame inproper mixing of the paint... if your prep was good that shouldnt be the problem but even bad prep wont cause improper drying of the paint if anything it will only cause paint imperfections or bad adhesion...

so id guess that either something you used for prep either put a "film" of some sort causeing the paint to not set in properly or maybe the High heat set the paint in but at the same time was so hot it kept the paint real soft but unless you REALLY hammered the paint on i cant seem to think of why this is happening with the spray paint...

did you shake the can well? i dont know, if it was a professional paint i could have more input but spray paint i dont usually see this problem sorry ... let me know if you find anything out.

·
Registered
318 Posts
was the paint enamel or acrylic? Enamel chemically reacts with some kinds of plastic and doesn't dry. I think the Fusion is made more for harder plastics. How old was the can?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·