Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
992 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been looking around everywhere for a good way to lower my car and from other peoples word of mouth it just keeps coming back to Eibach lowering springs...just wondering what other people have done to lower there balts'...im looking for around a 2" drop

·
Registered
547 Posts
Welcome, Eibach is the way to go IMO. I have Eibach Sportlines on my Cobalt and I love them.

·
Registered
222 Posts
Ive heard drop zone is a cheap alternative for only 99$ but I haven't ridden in a cobalt with either one so I guess its all in the wallet.

·
Registered
3,229 Posts
guyz i know im late on this but don't drop your car on springs unless you change your shocks to damp the new springs...i'm an engineering student and I was told many times this is a bad choice, and I have some friend who did it and the car drives shitty. When I drop ima put the whole set...might run me $1000 or close, but at least I'll have killer suspension that won't **** up my ride. Just my educated opinion lool

·
Premium Member
2,473 Posts
Actually BBoy is somewhat correct as the shocks are designed for a range of travel. If you lower the car without changing the shocls to accomodate the new range of motion you do have the POTENTIAL for a bad ride. Now how long it takes for the bad ride to happen depends on the quality of the shocks or struts, remember that factory stuff on the low end vehicles ie Cobalts, Cavaliers, Focus, Neons, etc are the cheapest so they will fail faster. By lowering the vehicle and not changing struts or shocks, the old parts are under severe compression and will fail faster than without lowering. Had a buddy with a Stang that after about 6-8 months literally blew out his shocks because he didnt get lowering shocks.

·
Registered
1,969 Posts
i eventually plan to lower my ls with sportlines. and i plan to get the FE5 shocks and struts for it.