Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am looking to lower my 2009 chevy cobalt sedan. It is currently stock but I am looking to stance the car.... eventually get new tires and wheels. You know the deal. anyways, I am new to lowering and cars in general. I have had trucks my whole life and only have done cosmetic changes.

I have been looking at B&G S2 lowering springs but have been told to also purchase shocks/struts at the same time since my factory ones will crap out. I have been looking on the forums and have noticed people getting FE5's? Is it a good idea to buy the FE5s and install those? And once I save up some money buy the lowering springs as well? or how does the whole process work?

Thanks for any info/suggestions. Anything helps.

·
Registered
949 Posts
Well, if you're gonna #StanceNation your car, I think any shocks/struts will crap out on you, but the FE5's seem to handle lowering springs much better than any of the stock 2.2L shocks/struts. You can get them from CED. Also, a lot of guys here like the SSC springs for a decent drop and noticeable increase in handling. They're a tad cheaper than B&G's too, so that might be something to look into.

Yeah, you'd want to install all the parts at the same time. Don't put your current springs into FE5 struts. Wait until you've collected both the shocks/struts package and the lowering springs to install everything at once.

FE5 Shocks & Struts - Crate Engine Depot
SSC Lowering Springs - ZZPerformance

By the way, this is what I'm talking about when I say "#StanceNation". If you're going with a tiny bit of camber, your suspension will last a whole lot longer than this:

·
Registered
227 Posts
My vote is for SSC/CM springs, they handle great, lower it a fair amount and the ride isn't harsh. If you want a bit more chamber in the front you might want to consider swapping out your control arms for FE5s out of a SS/TC.

·