Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can anyone walk me through maximizing the mpg's in my 2010 LT 2dr? I'm no mechanic, but I know a thing or two about cars and a lot about tools. I'm new to mods but I'm willing to learn. Whatever wisdom you guys have would be great, but I really want to get the most out of this great car.

Some ideas I had:
Remove back seats
Remove spare tire
Replace regular tires with more economic ones
Rebalance front seats with carbon fiber racing seats.

Here's what I've done to it already:
Ken wood 12" subwoofer with ken wood 1000 watt amplifier.
Oznium inferno underglow kit

---------- Post added at 10:27 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:26 PM ----------

Also Alpine speakers in the front and back.

·
Premium Member
2,635 Posts
Wouldn't the stereo components just take you a step backwards in weight reduction?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You're correct, but I also like to look good. I'm wanting a balance for now, but I will eventually take that out.

---------- Post added at 10:53 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:52 PM ----------

You're going to sink a crap ton of money into carbon fiber seats?

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Yes, yes I am. Nothing is too expensive for my baby if she wants/needs it.

·
Registered
1,345 Posts
there are far better things you could spend the money on for this car man...buuut its your car and your money!

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
Removing seats and spare will have no effect on fuel mpg. Tire inflation on the other hand will affect to a certain degree. Driving habits have the most effect.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
there are far better things you could spend the money on for this car man...buuut its your car and your money!
Like I said, those were ideas. If you have better ideas, I'm all ears.