Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, so I have perhaps a big problem/perhaps no problem at all. I have a 07 cobalt with the 2.2, non turbo of course, nothing special...with only 89k miles on it. I routinely change oil, sparkplugs, etc(preventitive maintenance) and have nothing in terms of aftermarket on it aside from a K&N CAI system. I do drive the mess out of this car, but essentialy it is well taken care of otherwise. Upon my last oil change, I decided to stick a magnetic drain plug in for the heck of it, can't hurt, right? So 3k miles down the road, today I drain the oil and do another oil change at which point I realize, hey there are metallic parts(not shavings) but parts hanging of the tip of the magnetic drain plug. Took some pics for you guys to see if you recognize the parts, if so, in your opinion, what should be done about this...I have little if any knowledge on the internals on this ecotec. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
In my non-professional opinion, they look like shims or bushings of some sort, however I've noticed no ticking, knocking, etc.
...and the pics:

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
They're bushings alright but how did they get there. Has your oil pan ever been removed? Or valve job? Those look like valve guides, two of them. How did they get down to the oil pan.

·
Registered
1,145 Posts
Sounds like to me GM didnt really do a good job through the production line. Any notice of problems yet?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7