Chevy Cobalt Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ordered an intake which should be here on thursday and it's my first performance mod ever. I planned on finishing the intake system and buying the 2.4 IM and TB but I think I'll wait and see if a non-plastic IM ever sees the light of day. In the mean time I figured I would study up on my next mod which is the exhaust. I studied the crap out of the intake before I decided on which one to buy and I plan on applying that here.

Can you guys basically cover the exhaust for me, from the EM to the tail pipe? I have no idea what parts I need, what a cat back is, or a down pipe. I don't know if you can have a dual exhaut or if that is pointless on our cars. I also have no idea why people cut half their exhaust off for just sound... believe me I've seen it... does that do anything for power? I know it's illegal to say the least. We really need an in depth writeup of the exhaust system on this site.

Also, now that I'm onto my second mod. I keep hearing how boltons move our powerband up. What exactly does that mean? And is having it move upward to the higher RPMs a good thing or not? Is it possible to way too high? What doeps an intake and exhaust do for our powerband?

Aaaaaand go. :bigsmile: But really, thanks. :toung:

·
Sneezing Daily
1,155 Posts