Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
547 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been searching the internet and i think i might have an exhaust leak somewhere. I only hear the ticking/hissing noise when i first start up the car for a few min. After the car warms up you can only hear it when you step on the gas a little when you want to speed up. The sound is coming from the passenger side like its behind the glove box or under it. I'm trying to look and see if its the intake manifold that's cracked or something but i don't know exactly what it looks like lol, I'm still fairly new to how cars work and stuff. Let me know what you guys think. Pictures of what the whole exhaust system consists of would be great. I would hate to pay 100 dollars just to find out its a loose bolt or a small crack in the flex pipe. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
I'm trying to look and see if its the intake manifold that's cracked or something but i don't know exactly what it looks like lol, I'm still fairly new to how cars work and stuff. Thanks.
I'm sure you meant exhaust manifold. But I would look at the flex pipe because it seems to be first to go.

·
Premium Member
3,700 Posts
^ I would do this also. Most likely the exhaust manifold to head.
And i would also get under the car and make sure everything is tight. Be sure to go in sequence, and use the proper torque at the manifold to head. Only other thing i can think would make that noise would be timing chain tensioner. But that would only be at start up until proper oil pressure has been reached.

·
Registered
547 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yea thats what i ment lol but yea im dont know too much about the engine to check it myself ive tried lookin today but idk what im lookin for i might be taking it to the dealership early tomorrow to see if they can figure it out hopefully they wont rob me of the little money i have.

·
Chevy Customer Service
794 Posts