Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I am a field service engineer who's on the road alot. I need a car that is perfectly happy going 75+mph for hundreds of miles every day. It must get 35+ mpg and have a range of 400+ miles between fueling.

Peace and quiet, comfort and leg room are a must.

I'm going to look at an 08 Cobalt coupe 5 spd on Saturday. Is this my car or should I go with a Civic for another $3000.

As a C4 Corvette owner, I know you forum folks are the ones to ask.:cool:

Thank you so much.

·
Registered
1,538 Posts
get a smart car if you are smaller, otherwise, the cobalt is your best bet

·
Registered
130 Posts
or you could go really small like an aveo, honda fit, suzuki sx4 or whatever it is. just a little econobox

·
Registered
230 Posts
get a smart car if you are smaller, otherwise, the cobalt is your best bet
Field service engineer means he's like a technical mechanic probably working on high end machinery. He needs somewhere to put the tools, Smart car is only like 40 mpg freeway and has no interior space and nowhere to stow tools.

My Balt gets me 33mpg mixed city and freeway...I don't drive 75 but if I was driving all freeway it would probably be atleast 32 going that fast. Also, at 34 mpg and a 13 gallon tank with all freeway driving means 400 miles per fill is attainable. I have done more than 400 but that was on a trip to Sothern California on hwy 5 going 70.

·
Registered
1,538 Posts
i am a mobile mechanic, and i could fit my small toolbox in a smartcar, but couldnt get my oversized frame in there

·
Registered
673 Posts
While I'd say a smart car is fine for the city I don't think I'd want to be on the highway with one. I'm sure they are safe but those cars are awfully tiny to be going 75mph in with other cars doing the same. I'd hate to see what an accident in one of those at that speed would look like.

·
Registered
106 Posts