Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never touched an audio system in a car, and I was wondering - can you install an amp and sub on the stock system HU and how do you go about doing it? I'm talking about the non-pioneer 4 speaker system.

·
Registered
869 Posts
I have limited experience so im sure youll get a better answer later. Im pretty sure there are no problems running the amp through the stock HU, but the one i did myself i used aftermarket so im not positive. I dont think the sub runs through the HU so thats not a problem. Go to crutchfield.com to get some better help as far as install instructions go. Like i said im not a pro at this so try not to flame me if i end up being wrong.

·
Registered
268 Posts
i ran a system pushing like 760w or so with 2 12" kicker comp subs and a pioneer amp, and the head unit pushes better than an after market hu does. same system was in a friends car his with non-stock head unit and he says it is way louder and better in my car with my stock hu

·
Registered
12 Posts
O.K. here is a tuff question. I will be installing 2 - 10" kicker subwoofer each one is approximately rms 750W. My amp is a zx750.1, so theoritcally ill be pushing 1500w. I'll be upgrading my battery to a yellow top. Now here's my question do you think the alternator is going to hold up? Also does anyone have specs on the amperage of the alternator?

·
Registered
130 Posts
if your run ning a 750w monoblock amp on 2 subs, you'll be pushing 375w out of each. my advice is get a 4 farad capacitor which acts like a backup battery. nice setup by the way

·
Registered
12 Posts