Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2007 Cobalt.
Music comes out of the rear speakers OK.
No sound out of the front speakers (in the doors) and also no sound with turn signals, open door, etc.

Once in a long while the sound will come back - recently it was 20 degrees F outside and the front door speakers kicked in for my drive home - what a pleasure!!! Blinker sounds worked too. Then gone again.

I have zero knowledge of wiring, so wondering if anyone can recommend the problem before I take the car in to be looked at. Its certainly not a big deal, but if a cheap fix then I may go for it.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
Very simple fix. Those 6 cents GM speakers are crap. Just buy a cheap pair of 6.5" Pioneer speakers from WalMart and order yourself a pair of adaptor brackets and 20 minutes later your all done with better sound that you ever had.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Very simple fix. Those 6 cents GM speakers are crap. Just buy a cheap pair of 6.5" Pioneer speakers from WalMart and order yourself a pair of adaptor brackets and 20 minutes later your all done with better sound that you ever had.
Thanks. But, how does the outtage of the front speakers relate to no sound from the blinkers?

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
Body Control Module sends a signal to the radio through slow speed GMLan and the radio translates it into audible signals sent to the driver's door speaker.

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
Yes, so does OnStar and car telephone.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Huh...learn something new every day.
Coincidentally, today was another day in the 20's and the right speaker came back for the end of my commute home.

Why would cold cause them to work again? A wiring issue in the doors?

·
Registered
64 Posts