Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently bought a replacement remote and key for my 2010 LT. I had the dealership reprogram the car to the new remote.

I put the replacement key into the ignition. Turned the ignition to ON, not RUN. Pressed the lock and unlock keys on the remote simultaneously.
With the replacement remote, no double horn beep.

With the original remote, got the horn double beep and the LF turn signal was on.
Put the relearn tool next to the LF stem, got the chirp.
The RF turn signal was now on, etc.

The replacement remote works to lock and unlock the doors. It also works the remote start just fine.
But when I try to use the replacement remote to activate the TPMS learn mode, it doesn't work.

When I use the original remote, the TPMS learn mode comes on just fine.

Has anybody seen this before? Any ideas?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,821 Posts
That should not happen, once the FOB is programmed if done properly it should activate the TPMS set-up when you press Lock/Unlock buttons. I've programmed remotes a lot and never heard of your problem. They might have used the wrong vechicle body code.

---------- Post added at 08:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:27 PM ----------

If you don't mind me asking, how much did they charge you for this service. I just did a 2 remote sale and program for a 2006 Cobalt for $80.

---------- Post added at 08:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:29 PM ----------

Just want to know if I'm in the ball park!!!
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,821 Posts
Well that's not bad for a stealership.

---------- Post added at 06:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:11 PM ----------

The replacement remote works to lock and unlock the doors. It also works the remote start just fine.
But when I try to use the replacement remote to activate the TPMS learn mode, it doesn't work.

When I use the original remote, the TPMS learn mode comes on just fine.

Has anybody seen this before? Any ideas?
I think I figured it out today on my wifes car.

You can program the keyFOBs 2 ways. One way is through the BCM module, then special functions. If you do it this way the TPMS won't be activated from remotes.

The other way is to program the FOBs through the RKE module, then set-up module then Program keyFOBs, this way the tpms will work. But there is also a fine print in there that says TPMS will only be activated by first 2 remotes programmed to the car. So if you didn't get the original remotes erased your new remotes won't activate the TPMS. I didn't have time to finish my experiment because my wife needed her car. So some of this might need to be verified or retryed or double check. I might need an other hour with her car. Anyway she kicked me out, she's got money in her purse so I might never see her again. lol
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
11,821 Posts
Yes, and you have to make sure you use the right body style letter. Cobalt and G5 use the letter "A". Malibu is W and it will get you to the BCM menu to Program a FOB but will not recognize the RKE. Didn't have a chance to finish my testing, the wifes car hasn't stopped long enough yet.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top