Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm trying to figure out my sister's Cobalt. It's a 2010 2.2 N/A auto with 228k miles. She has had it 2 years, she bought it with 175k neglected miles. I have changed cabin filter, air filter (Wix), Plugs (AC Delco) coolant, trans fluid. Oil every 2500 city miles with some 5w30 Mobil Super Synthetic I got from AAP for 49 cents a quart. And cleaned the Throttle body. The car has chain rattle and throws codes PO 0010, P0 0011. The idle will fluctuate and slowly get worse like a vacuum leak. It will stall if you let it idle for more than a few minutes when it's hot. I clean the TB (Tons of Crap in it) and it's fine for a few months. I clean the TB and again (oily carbon) and it's fine for a few months. Rinse repeat..... Why? It doesn't use oil.
I've been wrenching for 20 years (I'm 34) I own a gas car and a diesel truck. I'm just trying to help my sister.
Thanks,
Dustin

·
Registered
16 Posts
With that many miles it may be blow by caused by worn rings If you have a compression tester pull the fuel pump fuse or relay and see what numbers you get, You're looking for even numbers more then a specific number. You can search for what it should be close to. If it's very uneven from cylinder to cylinder that's not good. So if it's similar to my Saturn 2.2 the valve cover has a hose going right to the intake hose about a foot from the throttle body, It's probably sucking all the excess oil vaper caused by the ring blow by making higher crankcase pressure. Just a guess. Pull that little hose and see what's inside. Also the intake hose from there to the throttle body. Bet they are oily too. You may be able to rig up an oil separator into the little hose or even a breather filter of some sort to make the cleaning last longer. A little oil in vapor form will go a long way, that's why it's not low on the dipstick.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3