Chevy Cobalt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many of you replaced this nut when you took it off? because ive talked to a tech and a few other guys and they told me I should replace them when I take them off!

·
Registered
2,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok...wasnt sure I didnt know if i should or not ive had people tell me I should and people who say I dont have to! lol

·
Registered
2,724 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Don't i have to when installing my springs? or do I just take the 3 little strut mount nuts off! lol Im new to suspension thats why im waiting and doing it in my suspension class at school! -just not confident in tackling it with little info that i do kno! lol

·
Registered
2,969 Posts
Yeas you do. Here's a tip, loosen that nut before you do anything else. But don't remove it

·
Registered
1,890 Posts
jeez, nothing personal hail don't get mad but I need to correct this situation.

the PROPER way to do this is to use a strut socket and an allen (hex) socket. you can see a hex/torx socket in the top of the strut rod. DO NOT loosen it while it's on the car, you are in great danger if you do this because the spring is under pressure and could fly off and take your face out. besides, even if it's still on the car the strut rod will spin.

the style below, you use an open end on the top of the socket and stick an allen key in the top where the 3/4 drive would normally go into the torx on the top of the strut rod. now use a box wrench to get more torque with the allen key. loosen the nut using the open end/socket.

now, another method is using an impact gun and getting a good grip on the strut mount/bearing. I don't bother with the strut socket personally, but spinning the strut rod is not good for the valve at all. no harm done so far but I only trust myself with it.