Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yes, I'm new here so play nice haha
I bought a 07 cobalt used (LT COUPE, automatic)

it's a surprisingly nice car, especially since everyone I knew was talking crap about cobalts.
It was 3 grand, and I'm a student who was growing tired of the bus rides to college. so I snagged it.
it has around 120,000 km on it. not too shabby in my opinion.

only problem.
gas mileage.
oh god the gas mileage. My dads SUV is more efficient than my little car.
That's kinda weird. I only drive to my college, and back home which is around a 10 minute drive tops. I don't slam the accelerator either.

What's up? I notice I'm already at half a tank and I just refilled it 2 days ago :/

Anyone here have advice?

·
Registered
313 Posts
Oil change overdue? Air filter dirty? Spark plugs need change? Spark Plug wires need change? Improper tire inflation? Heavy load? Traffic? maybe a faulty o2 sensor?

·
Registered
1,345 Posts
Mine also gets terrible mileage. I only have 56000 miles. I dunno what to do other than take it to the stealership:(

·
Registered
3,127 Posts
Any codes or lack of power?

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts
Any car is going to be hard on fuel in stop and go traffic. Fuel efficiency is measured on highway. And no spark plug wires on a Cobalt.

·
Registered
675 Posts
Any car is going to be hard on fuel in stop and go traffic. Fuel efficiency is measured on highway. And no spark plug wires on a Cobalt.
agreed, take it out on a highway for a little bit. thatll tell you what your gas mileage is looking like

·
Super Moderator
11,821 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Coby is there a set interval to change the coils? I have 46k on my Balt. I'm sure the plugs were never changed, and or coils!

·
Registered
2,204 Posts
Those coils should "techinically" last the life of the car.

Granted, it's electronic...anything can fail.

·
Registered
3,127 Posts