Chevy Cobalt Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Wiring 4 Channel Amp to Mids/Highs

18K views 28 replies 6 participants last post by  jignaczak 
#1 · (Edited)
I see this repeated frequently on the forum, so I decided to write up an how-to on the easiest way to wire the 4 factory location speakers (Mids/Highs) in your cobalt to a 4 channel amplifier

I worked as a car audio installer for over 14 years, and have done this method more times than I can count, with amplifiers up to 500 watts/channel with no problems, although I'm sure I will get the usual "but the wire is not heavy enough for the amplifier power" arguement. Use your own judgement, but I can tell you from experence, that it is not a problem. After all, look at the tinsel leads on the speaker, they are usually 18ga or smaller, if they can handle the power, so can the factory wiring.

this will of course, also work with the factory speakers as well, but a high powered amp will likely destroy the cheap factory speakers, so a speaker replacement is recommended

this method will not work with the factory amplified systems, you will have to wire to the front speakers themselves (or to the amplifier location, which is under the steering wheel, I think it would be just as easy to wire to the speakers themselves)

If you are not sure if you have the factory amplifier, here are some tips:

do you have the factory sub...well then you have the factory amplifier.... :)

when you pull out the radio...plug in the adapter harness before making the modification below, get any one of the speaker leads...say the Gray (+) Gray/black (-) Right front lead, and touch the wires + and - to a 9 volt battery...if the speaker makes a pop sound, you do not have a factory amplified system, and this method will work for you

Step 1: